Gaining Professional Experience in the Country I Feel at Home

My name is Eli Wrightman. I grew up in Toronto, Canada, attended various Jewish schools growing up, and later got my degree in healthcare management from Touro University International. I worked for two years in Toronto, but I didn’t particularly enjoy what I was doing and I felt that expanding my horizons, gaining international professional experience and spending time in Israel – the country that I feel more attached to than any other – was the direction I wanted to take.

I was accepted to the Career Israel internship program and procured an internship in PR at the Bone Marrow Transplant Department of Hadassah Hospital Ein Kerem. The hospital environment, the responsibilities I was given, as well as the people I met, all contributed to a rewarding internship experience. I hope that it bolsters my resume and that the business network I have created here allows me to enjoy future success in my career.

Besides great work experience, Career Israel also provided trips and informative seminars: We hiked the north and south of Israel, toured many of the big (and small) cities and enjoyed weekend Shabbaton getaways. Personally, my favorite trip was our trip to the Negev and our hike in Machtesh Ramon. Of the seminars, I most enjoyed hearing two Palestinian students speak to us of their views on life in Israel and the lively discussion/debate that followed during the question/answer period. These were experiences that I would never have on my own.

I have only good things to say about my time here on Career Israel. The work, the trips, the people I have met, and the friends I have made have all come together to make this a terrific experience – truly a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Leave a Reply

