A Very Social Internship

My name is Jodi Geller, and I graduated from the University of Technology in Sydney, Australia with a Bachelor of Business.  I decided to participate in the Career Israel internship program to discover how it really is to live in Israel.  After touring Israel numerous times, I felt that interning and working in Israel would be a new experience and help me decide if this is a place I could see myself living in fully while gaining professional experience. I had considered making Aliyah and felt that this would be a good opportunity to determine if it’s right for me.

I intern at ConnecTLV. Organizing our weekly language exchange events has given me a better understanding of how to organize an event from start to finish.  I have learned that no matter how much you prepare for something, something always goes not as planned, and there will be some balagan (chaos).  However, through this experience I have learned how to handle small hiccups, and that if you keep calm and focused you will find a solution. Organizing these language exchange evenings where new olim (immigrants) come and learn Hebrew while exchanging their languages with fellow participants has been really satisfying, as I can very much see that all who participate not only gain a lot but really enjoy the social aspect of it as well.

My favorite trip on Career Israel has been the trip to the North where we traveled in the Galilee and the Golan Heights.  This is an area I have rarely been to, and it is such a beautiful part of Israel that a lot of people do not get to see. The hikes were truly amazing and the scenery was just breathtaking. It was also very nice to be taken out of our busy lives and the busy Tel Aviv area to an area that is so peaceful and beautiful. It felt as if we were being taken out of the ‘bubble’ that is Tel Aviv and into a place totally out of Israel.

Leave a comment