Saving Lives in Israel

Hello, my name is Maddison Martin. I am 22 years old and was born and raised in Huntington Beach, California. I went to the University of California, Santa Barbara, where I earned a degree is psychology. After participating in Birthright Israel in January, I knew I wanted to come back and spend more time in Israel.  I enrolled in the Career Israel internship program because I wanted the chance to live abroad, gain international work experience, and live in a place where I feel like I belong.

Growing up, I attended Hebrew school and Sunday school once a week until Bat Mitzvah age, but I never really felt part of the Jewish community for some reason. On Birthright, it was amazing for me to see how many people were Jewish around me. I finally didn’t feel like the minority, and I knew I must return to Israel because 10 days did not seem like a long enough time to get to know the country.

I have my EMT at home and have been an Ocean Lifeguard for seven years. I have always been interested in the emergency medical field and.  On Career Israel, I intern with Magen David Adom (MDA) on ambulances.  So far I love this internship! It has showed me that I truly do want to become a paramedic, and I wouldn’t have known that for sure without this experience.

One particular memory comes to mind when I think of  my internship at MDA. My first CPR ever was with another girl who went through the training program with me. It was an amazing experience, and I will never forget how we worked as a team to perform CPR and life-savings skills. I saw everything one could possibly see in that one call. Because of this experience I have confidence in myself doing anything that might happen while volunteering on the ambulance.

Another thing about Career Israel that I love is that we go on overnight trips every few weeks. My favorite trip has been the North Trip to the Golan Heights and the Kinneret. We hiked, met Arab-Israeli students, and went to the beautiful city of Tsfat. Seeing the beauty that Israel has to offer really shows me that I made the correct decision in coming on Career Israel.

Without a scholarship from the Orange County Federation, an interest free loan from the Los Angeles Federation, and the Masa grant, I would not have been able to  be a part of this wonderful program.

Leave a Reply

